Replacement Bed Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Splandman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
I have this 1975 3/4 that has a pretty rough bed and tailgate on it. I am not sure that the bed would be smart to try to save. I am no body expert but it looks like it would add a ton to paint and body even if it's possible to be straightened out.

I have not decided if I am going to put a flat bed on it or look for a replacement long bed. If I do go with a replacement are there any differences in 73-87 beds or do I need to look for an early version to keep the truck looking correct?

Splandman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
I just saw a post from JKnight in another thread that seems to explain it somewhat.

Old77

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
Jacob
Truck Year
1977/1990/1991
Truck Model
C10 longbed/R1500 Burb/R3500 Dually
Engine Size
350/350/454
all are the same with the exception of the filler door area. The early ones the cap just stuck out there so there was no door. The later ones had the square door so that's the main differences externally. The lines are all the same.

Splandman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
OK, thanks. This one does not have a filler door, but I don't guess it would be the end of the world if I find a decent bed that has the filler doors.

firebane

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Curtis
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Don't forget the square door boxes will use different filler hoses as well.

J Knight

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
John
Truck Year
82 Chevy
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
350ci
73-78 have fuel cap
79-87 have fuel doors