Can "carburetor" and "throttle response" be in the same sentence?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Kapdin

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Lance
Truck Year
Truck Model
Silverado K30, Scottsdale K20, Silverado C10, Silverado V10, Silverado V20
Engine Size
400ci, 350ci, 350ci, TBI 350ci, TBI 350ci
I know im no expert on carbs but the the two quadrajets i own.....blow for response. Can they and if not what brand can? they both run great but i understand the term "Quadra-bog". Im not even talking 4bbl kick in.

Jims86

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jim
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Suburban Silverado
Engine Size
5.7 TBI
You also had your carb rebuilt by a guy who un neccessarily removed a bunch of vacuum lines.
Does it ping when you floor it?

HotRodPC

Administrator
Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
First Name
HotRod
Truck Year
85 K20 LWB
Truck Model
Silverado
Engine Size
454 - Turbo 400 - 3.73
You can still get very good throttle response from a Q Jet. What will improve throttle response more than anything though is going to a Eddy aftermarket intake. IMO, that's about the only real noticeable difference going to an Eddy intake is quicker throttle response. Doesn't add power really, just makes a quicker snappier response.

MrMarty51

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Martin
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
they both run great but i understand the term "Quadra-bog". Im not even talking 4bbl kick in.

If the rear barrels are set too light,so the rear barrels come on to quick,at to low of RPMs,there will be a terrible "BOG".
If the rear barrels are set too heavy,then,the rear barrels will not open at all.
The Q-jet that is properly set up will almost leap the truck off the ground,but,that is also dependent on all of the other systems in proper working order and a well tuned engine too.
JMOP.