Attention all Subaru Gurus..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

heffalump

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
jeremy
Truck Year
Truck Model
2500 suburban
Engine Size
So folks, i just bought a 2003 subaru legacy outback 2.5 auto with a bad engine and i have a question..
What years can i get an engine from that would be a direct bolt in replacement? i have posted this on a few different subaru pages and forums and have yet to get a response. i figured if any non-subaru group could help it would be this one.

Dutch Rutter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Joshua
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
I'm no subaru expert but that's a 3rd gen which went from 99-04. I would guess there were some minor changes in that span of time. For a true bolt in I would try and stay in 2002-2004 just to be safe.

Edit: a pick a part or so might be able to help more as most have some kind of interchangeability database.

RecklessWOT

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Kevin
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10 Suburban Silverado
Engine Size
350 TBI
As far as I know, basically a 2.5 is a 2.5, you can use one from the 90s all the way up till like 2009 or so, whether it was in an impreza, legacy, or forester. Idk about the super new ones they might even work (not sure about how integrated all the electronic crap is), but the older ones are basically all the same animal. They made some changes here and there but to the best of my knowledge it's physically pretty much the same. Just use your original electronics to be sure. Think of it like a 350, you can take a block and heads from an early 90s Caprice wagon, slap a carb on it and stick it in an old square from the 70s. Sure there were differences between the two, but it will still work with no real modifications needed.