Starting a 350 that's been sitting

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

usar17

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Shawn
Truck Year
1985/87
Truck Model
K20 Silverado
Engine Size
TBI350/700r4/NP208
If you guys haven't noticed yet, I rely on you guys for most of my questions since im not a mechanic.

some of you know I got my hands on a 1987 C20 for parts. Owner says the motor is a GM rebuild with around 1000 miles on it. Unfortunately this truck has been sitting out back of his shop in the grass now for I believe maybe a year. Engine Compartment is only missing the battery and Radiator. Radiator hoses are still there with open ends.

He claims it will fire right up and that it rain great. I'm only concerned with what may have happened while this sat....

Your thoughts? Friend at work said to pull the heads and see what the cylinder walls and water passages look like. Then rebuild with new gaskets. Another friend said spray a little oil in the spark plug holes and give it a try with fresh gas.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD
If it's only been a year I don't think there is much to worry about. Maybe pull the plugs spray some oil or wd-40 in it and turn it over SLOWY by hand to get things coated before starting it up. And even after that just crank it with no spark and get some oil to pump up into the valve train, then see if she fires up. I don't see having to pull the heads unless the hood was off the truck and the motor was exposed to the elements.

And if it's a GM crate with that low miles on it I would expect it to look like as stated, even after sitting a year you should to easily tell if it is that fresh looking install or not.

usar17

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Shawn
Truck Year
1985/87