Want to bag 79. But also want to keep it around stock.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

randomTruckKid

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
I am looking at puting bags in my 79 c10 stepside. The only thing is when it's not lowered I want it at or around stock height since it's still going to be a daily truck.
If that's possable how much would it be? How complicated would that be. I'm very new to this and still learning so I dont understand too much yet. So sorry in advance for any stupidity.

ali_c20

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Alexander
Truck Year
1974, 1979
Truck Model
C20, K5
Engine Size
350, 350
Should be possible but that's a lot of parts work and money. Do you want to improve handling? Go for good coil over shocks, tubular control arms, sway bars front and back and a good steering box if you want to be around stock height. No need for compressor valves lines etc.

Rusty Nail

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rusty
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
350sbc
Agreed. That IS a LOT of work and it gets more expensive by the day. Airbags in 4 corners?= >$1000.
Add wheels, tires, shocks? > $2000.

xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media

My other 2 cents says I am a fan of moderate lowering and have been successful with that in the past. It's less than 1/10 the cost of airbags.. Shoot for a 2/4. Lower your expectations and your truck at the same time. Save money. I'm all about bang per buck. :waytogo:

Think about taking the bed off.
That's a one man job if you have a cherry picker....Drilling the rivets out of your spring hangers in the back and adding lowering shackles...Together that can yield 4 inches static drop to the back AND you may be able to simply change the front springs which can provide two inches drop up front.