Timing help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bucata206

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Anthony
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
I'm going to try to check the timing on my 350 tomorrow in my 79 K10. I have never done this before and see lots of posts online about setting the initial timing, but not much on checking the timing with an older motor.

The motor sounds like it has a misfire from time to time and has what sounds like a top end rattle at high RPMs. Was wanting to start with checking the timing (and changing the plugs) to see if this takes care of the issue. That being said, I do have an old timing light that used to belong to my dad. Is someone able to give me a crash course on how to do the timing? Not even sure where the timing light connects or what I'm looking for.

If it is too much to explain I can try to take it to someone to have it done, but I'm really wanting to try to do things with the truck myself.

Thank you in advance!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

rich weyand

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rich
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Timing is trivial. It's basically just a strobe light triggered by the engine spark signal.