quick question for small engine guys

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DanMcG

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dan
Truck Year
1978 1985
Truck Model
k10 k10
Engine Size
400 350
I just replaced both ignition modules on my 23 hp kohler sv820 which fixed the skipping/ dyeing but now it starts hard and backfires out the exhaust when I put a load on it. (mower)
Kohler says the air gap should be 0.011-0.013 so I used a 0.012 business card. I'll be checking the gaps again tomorrow, but would I want a smaller gap or larger to fix the issue?
Oh and I'll get real gauges next time.
Thanks

Blue Ox

Turning Diesel Fuel Into Fun
Reaction score
First Name
Derek
Truck Year
MCMLXXXV
Truck Model
K20HD
Engine Size
6.2L
My first guess would be a lean condition. But I'm a diesel mechanic, so maybe get a second opinion.

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
I just replaced both ignition modules on my 23 hp kohler sv820 which fixed the skipping/ dyeing but now it starts hard and backfires out the exhaust when I put a load on it. (mower)
Kohler says the air gap should be 0.011-0.013 so I used a 0.012 business card. I'll be checking the gaps again tomorrow, but would I want a smaller gap or larger to fix the issue?
Oh and I'll get real gauges next time.
Thanks
id start with real feeler gauges. i dont have a machine that i worked on yet with air gap because it goes off the camshaft on mine, but i know if its older, you may want to use a slight abrasive like stock paper or fine fine sand paper, clean the contact and the magnets, so no rust, clean off with alcohol, then set your gap. could make it have incomplete spark, which should be more like rich than lean. your plugs look hot?