Parking Brake help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tyson_87V10

Reaction score
First Name
Tyson
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Silverado
Engine Size
Hey all, hope you guys can help me out, I'm no expert. I just got a 83 K10 as a project.

I took it to get a safety inspection and the parking brake failed because it doesn't hold the vehicle in place even when the transmission is placed in gear and accelerated.

The cable was very loose and missing a cable guide. replaced the missing cable guide, tightened everything up, still won't hold.

Opened up the rear drums and found a broken pad and spring and the driver's side. Replaced every brake part (shoes, springs, adjusters, cylinders, etc) except the drums on both sides. Parking Brake still doesn't hold.

Do I need to work on the adjusters more or will they eventually correct themselves after some use?

crpntr78

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Can you get some pics?

RThiel

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Robb
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
6.0 LQ9
How did you adjust your brakes? The correct way to adjust them is to tighten them up all the way, and then back them off until you feel a light drag when you spin the drum. Did you get the drums turned? They may be glazed up as well.

Tyson_87V10

Reaction score
First Name
Tyson
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Silverado
Engine Size
How did you adjust your brakes? The correct way to adjust them is to tighten them up all the way, and then back them off until you feel a light drag when you spin the drum. Did you get the drums turned? They may be glazed up as well.

Thanks for the input RThiel.