New wiring harness difficulty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fjordlander

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Kyle
Truck Year
Truck Model
Scottsdale K10
Engine Size
V8
Hello friends,
I have a 76 Scottsdale K10 that I bought from someone locally and have been trying to fix up. I have no experience working on vehicles so I'm learning as I go. My latest endeavor was simply to install a horn (because there wasn't one) but when I climbed under the dash, there were no horn wires to be found. On top of that, the few wires that are there are spliced to pieces and I can't make heads or tails of what the wires are.
So I'm thinking it might be beneficial for me to start fresh with a complete new harness so future projects will be easier. My question is, how difficult will this be for someone with my lack of experience? I have a lot of tools and I'm generally good at fixing things but this is something I've never attempted.

Matt69olds

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC 1/2 ton
Engine Size
455 Olds
Make sure the brake lights and interior lights work. The horn is on one of those circuits. Make sure you don’t have a blown fuse.

First, test the horns under the hood behind the grill. The horns ground thru the mounting brackets. Apply power to the terminal on the horn, it should sound. Sometimes giving them a light tap will get them going if the have been unused for a long time.

Horns good? Plug everything back in and move on to the next step.

Find the black wire in the turn signal switch connector. I believe it’s pin G, that’s the ground trigger for the horn relay. Use a jumper wire, ground the black wire. The horn should sound. If so, the problem is in the column If not, listen carefully for the horn relay to click. No click? Move on.