New to me truck/ what should i go through and look at

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gotamotor74

Reaction score
First Name
tyler
Truck Year
Truck Model
k25
Engine Size
Hi all, I'm new to the forum here.
Also new to chevy/gmc trucks.
I picked up myself a 1974 gmc k25 about a month ago. Its got a 350 block, and sm465 transmision and an NP203 transfer case, not sure whats in the diffs. Again I'm very new to trucks. Most of my experience has been on my grandpa's 64' volkswagen and my 77' harley, both are a little different than trucks.
The truck seems to me to be in good condition I picked it up 2 hours away and drove it home that day with no issues and no over heating.
I plan on just going over the whole thing, change fluids and doing the wiring because.. oh yeah, no wiring... it has a "painless" wiring kit that the seller gave to me. But other than that.
My question is, what should I look for on this new to me truck? And what should I service/do before really driving it?
Thanks all, hope to get some wisdom on this site.

Radiohead

That guy on the Columbia
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
MCMLXXIX
Truck Model
C-20 Silverado Camper Special
Engine Size
454 crazy cubes, or 7.4 luscious litres