Light white smoke and backfire at high RPM or under load

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

iflyfisher

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ken
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Getting a ‘73 K20 running that had been parked since 2005. I rebuilt the carb, replaced the plugs and ignition wires, checked the points and condenser, and have the timing set for 4 BTDC. I also changed the oil, drained the old fuel, and ran fresh gas through the pump to push out any old gas before reconnecting the fuel line. The truck starts fairly easily and runs okay. It emits a bit of whitish smoke and the tail pipe splatters oily carbon spots all over the garage floor when I pop the throttle. Out on the road, the truck seems okay until I run up the RPMs fairly high or put a load on the engine. At which point the engine backfires.

I am no mechanic but willing to roll up my sleeves. I wonder whether the engine has a stuck valve or two. I have only put about 10 miles or so on the engine since I got it running. I’m wondering if I should put some Marvel Mystery oil in the oil and put some more time on the engine; or should I look for the cause now? And if the latter, where and how best to start?

Thanks in advance.

rusted nuts

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jeffrey
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20
Engine Size
4cly diesel