Floor pan patch panel repair suggestions, hints, tips, info needed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Scorpion

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Mines a '74. Normal rust spots. I've never installed floor pans before. I've never done a rocker repair before, have above average fabrication and metal working skills and tools, am not at all afraid do give it a crack but, at the same time, I don't want to cut the wrong piece or too much when I start nippin' so that I have to clean up a "didn't know any better" mess.

Here's the damage I've gotta deal with. Basically the PO's let mud, sand, leaves, and other crud build up in the rear portion of the fenders where it just ate everything.

You must be registered for see images attach

That combined with the usual drainage problem into the cab area and the floors are toast. Drivers from the inside

Drivers from the underside

Passengers is almost exactly the same

Passengers underside

Both sides have gotten slightly into the rocker but only the front of it, the rest looks solid.

So thats where i am. a few questions:

What's the right way to fix this? Replace the inner and outer rocker and floor pan OR patch the inner rocker and repair the floor pan OR ?? Half drop in (4,5) or half replace (2,3) pan?

2 lbs of plumbers putty and some chicken wire? Anyone know of a writeup covering this that I can check out? $100 + my time OR $800 materials and labor to have the shop that's gonna paint it, do it? Any help and guidance is appreciated.

89Suburban

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Paw Paw
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevrolet Tahoe LT
Engine Size
5.3, 4WD

:popcorn: :popcorn: