1977 C20 hd emissions vacuum lines

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

njones

Reaction score
First Name
Nicholaus
Truck Year
Truck Model
c20
Engine Size
I can’t find where some of my vacuum lines are supposed to go. I just bought this truck and I am pretty sure something is a little off. I have a single vacuum line coming to the carb in the front bottom next to the ac solenoid. I believe that the airbox connects to the kickdown that is mechanical. I have the repair manual.
You must be registered for see images attach

I cannot figure out if I need a line out the back of the carburetor where the advance is. It has two ports that I can see but the diagram shows nothing.

Also, where does the actual vacuum come from?

I am pretty new at dealing with carburetors, so I probably called something wrong.

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
I can’t find where some of my vacuum lines are supposed to go. I just bought this truck and I am pretty sure something is a little off. I have a single vacuum line coming to the carb in the front bottom next to the ac solenoid. I believe that the airbox connects to the kickdown that is mechanical. I have the repair manual.

I cannot figure out if I need a line out the back of the carburetor where the advance is. It has two ports that I can see but the diagram shows nothing.

Also, where does the actual vacuum come from?

I am pretty new at dealing with carburetors, so I probably called something wrong.
The one out of your rear of your carb goes to the black canister filter then goes to the vacuum booster ( you have vacuum booster, right?)
The vacuum is produced by the restriction of the intake system vs the flow out of the engine (small opening, exhaust gets pushed outward) in a very simple way.