Yet Another Powerless Truck Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TX87R10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Patrick
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
'87 R10 305 automatic tranny.

Lately I've noticed it was *slightly* more difficult to physically turn over the ignition but not had any problems.

This morning ran fine. Got in to grab some lunch heard the lightest click as if it was going to do something and then nothing. No interior nor headlights, etc...

Tested battery with a multimeter and it looked good. Then the batteries in my multimeter appear to have died and do not have a way to replace them (awesome!)

I have a voltage tester but I am no electrician so not sure if it would actually work in this case to test power. Going to run to the store and buy a better multimeter in a second so wanted to post this first to see if anyone could help a newb.

1. Is the proper way to check for voltage to connect an alligator clip to the negative terminal on the battery and run it to the black probe, and then use the red probe to touch where power is expected? My alligator clip / wire is way to short to reach the other side of the truck so any problem with daisy chaining them?

2. Can anyone give me an idea on how to test the fusible links? I have found plenty of other threads on here identifying where they are but I am trying to be extra careful and not blow anything up or end up in the hospital.

3. Anything else to test besides the fusible links? I checked fuses inside the cab under the steering wheel and everything looked good there.

Sorry I know these questions probably have been answered 100x but I am trying to be extra careful.

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
'87 R10 305 automatic tranny.