Which crate motor to use

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Olin

Reaction score
First Name
OJ
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
hi all! I’m thinking of replacing my tired old 78 k10 350 with a new crate motor. Any thoughts on a good engine to use? I’m looking for an economical, well built engine with more power than my old engine. It looks like jegs sells a well built replacement engine but the reviews say that lots of people have trouble receiving the orders they’ve placed!
Chevy has some nice looking brand new replacements but I would need to travel and have it installed by a specific dealer to take advantage of the warentee.
Also, I’m a newbie and would like something easy to install with minimal prep work.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Craig 85

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Craig
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30 SRW
Engine Size
454/TH-400/NP205
Have you thought about having your motor build by a local engine shop?

For me, I didn't go that route because the truck the PO had already replaced the engine with an unknown history block, so originality wasn't an issue and I didn't know the condition of the block. One of my biggest issues for me was California still requires emissions equipment on anything newer than 1975, so I was looking for a basic stock rebuild.