vortec heads on 350

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

1983ChevyK30

Reaction score
First Name
JJ
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30
Engine Size
i got a 1980 chevy k30 that i use mostly as a work horse. i do a lot of pulling with the truck and the power department needs great improvement. motor is completely stock besides headers. i would love to do the vortec head swap before im done with hs and off to college and dont have time for this stuff. im kinda new to swapping heads and figuring out what size cam to use and figuring out quench area etc. (im more of a snowmobile modifier). but i am very mechanically inclined and have tools to do this job. i would love to put a little bigger cam in it but im not 100% sure on how to figure out what size cam and how much lift. can i use stock push rods? i plan to keep short-block stock it has the LT9 350. Just want to do top end. i want this truck to run off of 89 pump gas. not looking to build a race motor just a good pulling torque motor. any help on how to go about swapping the heads and caming up would greatly be appreciated. thanks

Ronno6

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ron
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
What RPM range do you need?
For gobs of low end torque, the dreaded "swirl port" heads do a great job and are usually available for cheap, but they somewhat choke things off above 4000 or so.
Swirl ports do a great job throughout the power band, I believe, but, if you opt to go with them. either purchase new or have magnafluxed prior to purchase, as they are notorious for cracking.
My machine shop man said that 8 out of 10 Vortecs he gets in are cracked. I took a pair in myself, and both were cracked.
Vortecs also limit your cam selection, unless modified.