Update on TH350

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

j_dog00

Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
5.7l 350
Ok guys,
First off I want to thank all of you for your knowledge, advice and otherwise responses to my posts, believe me they are all welcomed, I am a newb.
This is a conglomeration of former posts, as some of you know been having trouble with the th350 Auto. After changing the filter, gasket, vacuum module, torque converter to Flexplate bolts, and new fluid..I think I have it narrowed down.
The reason I even looked under there to start was because of a loud metallic knocking noise, coming from the TC area, truck shifted fine at this point.
Upon inspection, I found two bellhousing to engine block bolts loose, I tightened them and bam It ran ok for about an hour, and the metal knocking noise was gone..
then it started to act up..it would slip in low gears, almost not upshift at all, and downshifting would bog the truck down.
Then it stopped going into any gear period.
This is when I did all the work with the filter, vacuum module, fluids and so forth.

So my guess is, that the Torque Converter is not seated properly, also when I tighten the 3 TC to Flexplate bolts..the flexplate flexes a little bit to seat with the TC. Is that an issue? If it's seated properly I'm guessing it wouldn't flex unless necessary under stress of a running engine.

After research, money and headaches..I think that's it..so what's the easiest way to fix this,? Do I have to pull the tranny back? Is there a trick for this? I have two jacks, and no lift..thanks again guys!

Also, the gentlemen who said in an earlier post it is mt torque converter ears..you get to say I told you so! Thanks again

Sent from my LG-M153 using Tapatalk

Preston

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Preston
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10