Truck won't start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jairie laplante

Reaction score
First Name
jairie
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
Hello I'm new to working on vehicles so this may be a dumb question. I have a 1981 c10 truck with the 250 inline 6 that one day just stopped starting when I turned the key it does buzz or anything just turn the key forward to start and nothing. I was able to get it to start by turning the key on and crossing terminals on the starter a couple times but then that stopped working so I replaced the solenoid and starter since it was fairly cheap and now it does work with the terminals but I know it's not good for it and I'm not sure what could be making the key not work I've followed the wires and they seem fine on the engine bay side Atleast any ideas?

dsteelejr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
David
Truck Year
1973, 1980
Truck Model
Cheyenne super C20 camper special, Sierra K25
Engine Size
350, 454
Did you mean it doesn't buzz when you turn the key on? Manual transmission or automatic? Manual trans has a clutch interlock so the clutch must be pushed in. The automatics have an interlock that will only allow the engine to crank with the shifter in P or N. On my '73 C20 that interlock is going out and sometimes I have to shift into N to start because it won't crank in P. Try cranking in N if its an automatic.

jairie laplante

Reaction score
First Name
jairie
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size