Timing issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

82_k10

Reaction score
First Name
Amadia
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size
350 sbc
I have a 1982 k10 I recently bought with a 350 sbc. Here recently I had to replace the heads on the truck and with that I changed the headers and got the edelbrock 1406 carb cleaned and vacuum tested. I also changed the cap, rotor, spark plugs, spark plug wires, etc. Now with that I have to set the distributors timing. I have a timing light with a degree set on it so I just put it on 12 and line up the mark on the timing cover to 0. Now when I start it it runs and revs fantastic. But, when I go take it down my driveway, it does fine the first time then I go take it back down for the second time and it starts misfiring and sputtering. Sometimes the motor even dies. I have cleaned the mechanical advance weights and replaced the springs, even put some softer springs and tried it again but still comes out with the same problem. I am plugging the vacuum and doing all things right (at least I think) to set the timing. Really confused on this and thought someone that knew more than me might have a good opinion. Anything helps. Thanks

Hugomartin

Banned
Reaction score
First Name
Hugo
Truck Year
Truck Model
V20 3/4 ton 5.7 350 suburban
Engine Size