So...Ordered the tow mirrors and now realize...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Swearbody

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jeff
Truck Year
Truck Model
C1500
Engine Size
355 sbc
You must be registered for see images attach
Dangit my 84 came with the little mirrors. someone along the way installed a crappy set of aftermarket tow mirrors and removed the original. I ordered the kpro tow mirrors:rolleyes: assuming that it came with the oe tow mirrors only to realize just now that the bolt pattern matches the little mirrors. Ironically I already have a set of the little ones on my 86 and hate them.

Im going to just need to drill holes to mate the new mirrors and I understand that however I have no experience filling holes left by old hardware. there will be 7 holes after I remove the ****** hinge style mirrors if I include the original 3 that were never filled. The truck has a decent paint job and I dont want it to look like ass because I cant match paint. I am considering a plastic plug of some sorts that I can paint to match as closely as I can but I cant imagine what that may look like.

I also am expecting to see some wear and off paint or possibly surface rust under the hinges for the mirrors since they are low quality un treated steel. Any thoughts or advice is appreciated. Thanks!

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
those loook like OE Ford mirrors for 80s to 96/97, most of the ford guys ditch those for OE Chevy tow mirrors of the same era.

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
There were several aftermarket versions of the "Ford" mirrors. Those look like one of them.

eskimomann209