School me on intake manifolds and headers

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bigcountry78

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
James
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
Thanks to @Vbb199 , I now have a set of long tube headers for my truck. He and I have discussed this some but I’m completely new to the subject of add on engine accessories. So, what can I expect, real world, from a set of long tube headers, and aftermarket intake manifold, and an open element air filter? I’ve never messed with any of this. I’m not looking to smoke my tires off, but I believe my 350 only makes around 160 horsepower. I think it can do better, and some more torque for towing would be nice. It has absolutely no smog equipment, and is stock other than dual flow master exhaust. Which intake manifold will work with my Quadrajet? This truck basically needs to be daily driver capable, so I don’t want to go crazy with cams and all that. I know I will lose my heat riser tube with the headers, so I figure I might as well ditch the factory air cleaner and run an open element type to get some more air flow.

Joe T

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Joe
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
You’ll loose a little bottom end with the headers.

Depending on the shape of the motor your dollar is better spent on doing a cam. A good mild non emissions cam.

Do these need a recurved distributor when jacking with the cam?

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
The factory manifolds are actually kind of bad. A set of headers are a good first upgrade and a decent set of longtubes will gain a bit of power all over, even the low end. Besides the butt dyno, it's been proven many times on an actual dyno as well.