Saddle Tanks NOT near as dangerous as publicized !!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

chuck13

Reaction score
First Name
Chuck
Truck Year
1985/1978
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
I remember when the National Bullsh!t Corporation/Dateline program aired.I
learned then what a lot of people have learned recently-you CANNOT trust
the MSM for honest information.
A friend of mine operated a wrecking yard back then.Squares of every
description,front impact side impact rear impact rollovers,everything
possible accident and not ONE of them burnt from a side impact.GM
has,and still does,make some really crappy designs.But the C series
gas tank location is pretty far down that list.

Keith Seymore

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Keith Seymore
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
4.3L
I remember it as well.

I was an engineer for the squarebody trucks at the time.

My dad worked at Chevrolet Flint Manufacturing - Pressed Metal Division and made radiator supports, fenders, air cleaner housings, and fuel tanks.

K

Last edited:

fast 99

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Brian
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Being in the towing industry during that period I saw a bunch of accidents. It's uncommon for any vehicle to catch fire. Think people believe what they see in the movies. Never saw a Pinto burned up either.

Had several square body trucks at one point. There was some sort of class action lawsuit on the fuel tanks, we received a coupon for a small discount on a new truck for each unit. I think the government sued GM again and lost so the coupons were worthless.

Turbo4whl

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Wayne
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy
Engine Size