Running rich after pump change

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Nick87

Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Truck Year
Truck Model
Crew cab v30
Engine Size
Hey fellas, I’m new to the asking for help bit, but I need some. I have a 1987 crew cab v30. It’s actually the forest service truck out of dauntes peak, the one that drove through lava.
I got it running right and got it legal and insured. Drove it for a few months and it started having fuel problems. I have only been using the passenger side tank and the drivers side is disconnected. The pump would cut out as it got warm so I swapped it out and made sure my lines on my sending unit were in there correct orientation. Now the truck would idle fine and before the pump swap. While doing the swap I pulled the tank and cleaned it out. I started the truck after the swap and it couldn’t be richer. Folks, i don’t know if anyone on here as flooded a TBI motor but I have. It ran so rich it had the whole neighborhood smoked out in a matter of minutes. I thought it could be the wrong pump pushing to much pressure, not that, I thought it could be the diaphragm in the tbi that regulates the fuel pressure, rebuilt the tbi and no result. Swapped a few sensors, checked timing, checked injectors, swapped the damn pump again! Nothin. Still runs like ****. I’m thinking gunk or something got into the return line? Or the fuel tank valve is stuck or something. I’ve been racking my brain for a month and a half. Any help or ideas would be so appreciated!

~Nick

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
What's the spray pattern of both injectors look like?

Nick87

Reaction score
First Name
Nick
Truck Year
Truck Model
Crew cab v30
Engine Size