Rear axel issues.. I think?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Black Beauty

Reaction score
First Name
Hunter
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
5.7L 350
So I’ve done some reading and asked around. Been getting mixed opinions and thought I’d ask any and everything here their opinion. I have a 1985 K20 4x4 that SLAMS and I mean slams into reverse. Doesn’t shift hard in any other gear or when driving down the road. Like I’ve explained it to guys and then showed them and they were in disbelief. Explaining it doesn’t even begin to describe how hard it is(hehe)jk. I haven’t delved into the truck too much yet and I’m not a mechanic by any means but I know enough to get myself into and out of trouble. I don’t want to say what other guys have said just so I get can your guys honest opinion without guiding anyone. Fluid level is good btw

I’m pretty sure the guy before me or before him etc etc.. regeard the axles. Only thing that makes me think that is because the dif covers aren’t the same as the axle. Could be wrong but idk. Any ideas/advice you guys got is much appreciated. I’m gunna pull the cover off probably next weekend and take a peek but if I can avoid doing that that’d be great lol.
You must be registered for see images attach

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Black Beauty

Reaction score
First Name
Hunter
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
5.7L 350
I should also tell you guys that the U joints are good too. No play in those at all.

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size