pinion angle shims on the front?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

colonel mustard

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
steven
Truck Year
Truck Model
k5 blazer
Engine Size
Good morning yall.

I recently moved the front axle 1 1/2" forward on my k5. the pinion is level with the ground and is creating a stupid crazy pinion angle. I would love to put like a 4* shim up there. I have never used shims in the front before and want to know if it is "safe"

I have a set of DIY4X shims that actually bolt into the leaf packs. thanks in advance

hirschdalechevy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
rich
Truck Year
Truck Model
k-30
Engine Size
I would just get new center pins , run them through your shims and spring pack and you are good to go, 4* shims are not that much imo.

TubeTruck

I'm from Boston. Deal with it.
Reaction score
First Name
Denis
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban K10
Engine Size
LQ9
If they bolt to the leaf packs and there is a pin on the bottom for the perch then I would say they are safe.

dvdswan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Your knuckles should be between 6-8* negative. This way you have proper steering return and don't have the dreaded "death wobble".

idahovette

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Perry
Truck Year
1975-1979
Truck Model
K20-K10
Engine Size
Your knuckles should be between 6-8* negative. This way you have proper steering return and don't have the dreaded "death wobble".
Not in my world, you need positive caster for a good wheel return and it also helps stability when driving. Almost all cars and trucks spec some degree of positive caster.

dvdswan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size