Olds 350 Swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Nate88

Reaction score
First Name
Nathan
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
350ci Rocket V8
Hi everyone i'm new to the forums and this is my first post. I have an 81 C10 with an Olds 350 engine. I didn't see a recent post about this engine swap. So i figured i would write a post about it. I have owned my truck since 2016 and in that time i have become extremely familiar with the Oldsmobile V8 engine family. My tuck was actually built with the Oldsmobile 350 diesel engine. When it died like many of them did a Olds 350 gas engine was installed in its place. I decided to buy my C10 after i lost my 94 Ram 1500 to an unfortunate roll over accident. I have a 1969 cutlass project car that i have been accumulating parts for over several years. So i decided to buy the C10 so i could use some of the extra parts to get them out of my way...lol

But back to the Olds 350. The 350 Olds actually makes for a very good truck engine. They have some unique design characteristics that's favorable for truck use. I will give a detailed description and explanation about those features. Im going to break this up into a series of post's. There's a ton of information that i can share about this engine. So i would like to share it to anyone thats interested. I will also add photos when i get the time.

Nate88

Reaction score
First Name
Nathan
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
350ci Rocket V8
First off some basic specifications of the Olds 350

Deck Hight = 9.33 Inches
Bore Spacing = 4.62 Inches
Bore Size = 4.057 Inches
Stroke = 3.385 Inches
Rod Length = 6.0 Inches
Main Bearing Diameter = 2.5 Inches
Rod Bearing Diameter = 2.125 Inches

Rusty Nail

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rusty
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
350sbc