New to the Square Body Fam

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AmmoToad

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC Sierra
Engine Size
What's up all!!! Little about me: My name is Josh and I'm 34. Just hit my 16 year mark in the USAF. I'm stationed at Shaw AFB in South Carolina. Currently deployed.

So I've always been a fan of the square body. My dad had an old Scottsdale when I was a kid and I thought it was the most badass truck I'd ever seen. I recently came across one and scooped it up. It seemed to have the basic things I was looking for. It's a 1987 GMC Sierra 4x4. One of the previous owners did a auto to manual transmission swap and put in an NV4500. The truck needs a lot of work and I'm willing to put the $$ in. Now, I'm no mechanic but I'm also not mechanically declined. I also have plenty of friends that are very mechanically inclined and between us we have everything we need to do the work that I plan on getting done. I picked this truck up right before I left on my deployment so I didn't get much time with it. I'm looking for guidance on what to buy and how I should do this rebuild. I've got a budget of around $15k. Things I know I need to do: Rebuild the motor and tranny. New front and rear axles. New gears. New clutch and all clutch parts. Needs to be re-wired. Lots of Cosmetic stuff. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. I have about 6 1/2 Months before i'll be able to complete any of the work but would like to start ordering parts and getting them sent to my buddies garage. :cheers:

Georgeb

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
George
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 Burb Z71
Engine Size
Welcome and thanks for serving our country! You will find lots of helpfull people here.

AmmoToad

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC Sierra
Engine Size