Need rocker panel/pan help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

luna negra

Reaction score
First Name
luna
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy
Engine Size
I've got a rusty '79 K5 with some rocker and floor pan issues. I've never tried to do body work so before I start cutting and welding, thought I would ask here first. My main question is how much to take off and replace. The driver's side rocker is not that bad except for one part. Would you just try to replace this bad section or go much larger? Also, what's confusing me is the order of things - I assume I start by cutting the outer rocker off, then fitting that back before the inner? Or do I fit the inner and outer together, then tack? The youtube videos I've seen aren't clear on the order of things. I presume that the outer/inner has to be done before anything with the floor pan correct?

You must be registered for see images attach

Passenger side

To confuse things further, the aftermarket inner rocker piece that was sent by RockAuto doesn't really make sense how it fits - it's much too short for the overall outer rocker length. Any insight y'all could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
First Name
Andy
Truck Year
'77, '78, '79, '84, '88
Truck Model
K5 thru K30
Engine Size
350-454
I'll try not to gripe too much about the reproduction floors and inner rockers, but I don't know why any of these companies don't pony up and make them like GM did. The inner rocker thing is a joke.