Need help with very bad sputter with 83 k20 bbc 454.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tanner_Shany24

Reaction score
First Name
Tanner
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Hey guys, recently bought a 1983 k20 with a bbc 454 in it. I like the truck a ton, but it has its flaws, and a lot of them haha. I am 18, and while I have worked on motors my whole life, this is the first carbed motor I have owned, so I am kind of new to the carb game and just want to get some peoples opinions.
The truck was running pretty poorly, so I just swapped the carb for an edelbrock 750. We had one sitting around and the old was was crusty as heck and I didnt want to take the time to rebuild it when we had a new carb already just sitting there. It definitely runs a little better after trying to get the carb tuned up, but it still has one big problem which it had before the carb swap. It sputters very very badly when the engine isnt at full operating temp. Like so bad that it would take the truck at least 20 seconds to get to 50 mph, and acts like it wants to die the entire time as it seems to be missing more than not. However it will idle fine and it will rev fine in neutral. Once it hits full operating temp it runs absolutely amazing, pulls hard, no backfires or sputtering, and it will idle all day and if its warm it starts with one bump of the key.
One thing that may be important to mention is that the fuel is provided by an electronic pump, hardwired to run all the time the key is on (I know this is the wrong way to do it, I plan on changing it back to mechanical, but it was like this when I bought it and cant afford to change it as of right now). I have a couple of ideas but want your opinions on what you all think it could be.