HVAC issues

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

87SQRBDY

Reaction score
First Name
Josh
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
5.7l 350
Hello all, I am new to this and have a 1987 Chey R10 Silverado, small block 350 and looked every where for an answer, so I thought I'd give it a try here.

I'm having a problem with my fuse blowing when i place my blower selector switch on high. It doesn't do that in the first 3 settings, only when place on high.

I'm grateful for any help and advice.

dusterdude

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
gmc c15
Engine Size
My thoughts are,either a bad blower relay or maybe a bad blower resistor

Sent from my LM-X420 using Tapatalk

Itali83

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ben
Truck Year
1982, 1987, 1987
Truck Model
K10, 'burban C10, Jimmy
Engine Size
350, 6.2, 350
The resistor is bypassed in high, so, you’ve probably got a blower motor going out and it is just drawing more amps than it’s supposed to. Check your switch on the back side where the plug is, over time they can get melted and broken from heat over the years, I’ve seen where the plastic plug is completely gone, the pins on the switch are loose and can touch other pins and short out possibly. My bet is tired blower motor though.
Ben

Corvette Ed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eli
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
Welcome to the forum.follow the advice from Itali83 and you’ll find your problem.

SirRobyn0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size