Horn doesn't work and when trying, headlights turn off

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rrhonda87

Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10
Engine Size
5.3 LS
I'm pretty new to all this, I have an '87 V10 with LS swap. When hitting the horn button, it doesn't work. Maybe the bigger problem (or part of it) is the horn button will shut off the headlights when they're on. Has anyone had this problem or have ideas? Thanks

Bextreme04

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size
350-4bbl
:happy175:... that has to be the weirdest electrical issue I've heard in a while

Those two systems shouldn't be linked in any way that I can think of... The newer squares like yours have the headlight wiring going through the turn signal switch, right? Maybe there is a short in the wiring in the column somewhere? Do you have cruise control with the LS swap? Are the cruise controls on the turn signal stalk? Since the horn button works by shorting the horn wire to ground, maybe you have a wire switched somewhere in the column when they did the swap and now it is shorting your headlight wires to ground when you hit the horn button?

rrhonda87

Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
V10
Engine Size
5.3 LS
thanks for the feedback. No cruise. I'm replacing the steering wheel soon and wanted to pick some brains before opening it up.

Bextreme04

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size
350-4bbl
Is it a DBW or DBC LS swap.. sorry not pertinent to your problem, just curious. Either one becomes super easy to add cruise, although it is easiest with DBW, as you don't need a cruise control box.