HELP! 76 GMC c25 frame needs cab swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

383-GMC

Reaction score
First Name
mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC c25
Engine Size
Hello

I have started a project truck and I am at a stand still now. I have a 76 GMC c25 Sierra Grande. Lwb. I put all new suspension on it and cleaned up the frame. Its set up for street strip. When it came to the cab I had several opinions and all came back saying theres too much rust. I need to do a cab swap but dont know specifics on what's going to work. I can get an 81-83 k30 cab w/ or w/out front end for $1300. I know some people said for the 80 and up on a 70s frame I'd have to cut the bumper brackets but I'm not sure what there meaning. I didn't know what other issues I'd run into a well. I have some knowledge on vehicles but I've done everything through you tube. Please help and give guidance. I just need to find a cab and get this truck running.

383-GMC

Reaction score
First Name
mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
GMC c25
Engine Size
I've also been told theres companys that have new cabs for sale but I cant find what there talking about.

hatzie

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
David
Truck Year
Truck Model
k20
Engine Size
USBody sells fiberglass noses, cabs, and beds

Kinda like buying a kit car.

75gmck25

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Bruce
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25 Camper Special TH350 NP203
Engine Size
You need to get a more specific evaluation of what needs to be replaced on your cab. There are multiple sources for new fenders, hood, cab corners, doors and other parts of the cab. Fenders, hood and doors would not require welding, but you probably also have rust in the cab corners.