Fusible link issues.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jrparadis

Reaction score
First Name
Justin
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
Hey Everyone,

I have a 78 C10 that I am trying to get back on the road and the wiring is an adventure. I blew up the original 454 and am trying to finish hooking up a replacement. Today when I tried to bump the starter a big puff of smoke appeared.

So I know this is the fusible link getting destroyed and I’ll need to replace it but my questions are the following.

1. my fusible link is attached to both posts on the firewall does the new one need to do this as well? I can’t find one with the proper end on them.

2. The positive to the starter has no fusible link on it. What does the wiring look like? I am new to automotive wiring.

3. I think the wires actually touched while bolted to the starter I am guessing this would blow the link instantly.

4. The passenger side post on the firewall junction has no wire on it. All the pictures I have seen a red wire is on that post going to the passenger side. Where does this wire go as it’s missing or incorrectly attached somewhere else.

thanks guys. This is my first project vehicle and I developed a rod knock 45 mins after buying it. I am learning as I go.

You must be registered for see images attach

Turbo4whl

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Wayne
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy
Engine Size
My guess would be this, either the battery positive lead to the starter or the battery ground lead to the engine is bad or loose.

When you tried to crank the engine the high amperage load that passes through the starter found a path through that fuse-able link. There is a good chance the alternator was also part of the path.

SirRobyn0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size