Fuel tank selectrical issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Captain J

Reaction score
First Name
Juday Hajri
Truck Year
1972, 1986, 1987, 1997, 2013
Truck Model
C/K 2500, R3500, 2500HD
Engine Size
5.7, 7.4, LS, 6.0
Greeting
I’m new to this form and I need advice/help.
I’ve a 1987 GMC Sierra with 7.4L TBI and auto transmission, factory dual fuel tanks.
I replaced the fuel sending units on both tanks, fuel filter, fuel lines.
The issue is this, truck starts rough,

Charlie

Mopar by Birth. Chevy by Choice.
Reaction score
First Name
Don
Truck Year
Truck Model
Cheyenne 10 LWB
Engine Size
350/TH350/AC/4 BBL Quadrajet
:welcome:

Rickf

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rick
Truck Year
1974, 1954 & a 1937
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Was it running rough before you installed the new parts?

chengny

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jerry
Truck Year
Truck Model
K3500
Engine Size
350/5.7
Greeting
I’m new to this form and I need advice/help.
I’ve a 1987 GMC Sierra with 7.4L TBI and auto transmission, factory dual fuel tanks.
I replaced the fuel sending units on both tanks, fuel filter, fuel lines.
The issue is this, truck starts rough,

The issues are:
  1. truck starts rough, sometimes it quits, but once warmed up it’s ok.
  2. If I use right tank the truck is running fine, however if I select left tank, engine will quit and service engine soon will come on (code is 43).
So, if you start up on the LH tank, it never runs well - even when warmed up? And if you start up on the RH tank, it struggles at first, but then after it warms up it runs okay forever. However, while running well on the RH tank, and you switch tanks...the engine stalls?