Fool me once…..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MtBraun

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
So I dropped off my axles to have the tubes welded and center section plugs filled. I specified TIG because it wanted it to look clean. I sent it to a young fella trying to get his fab business up and running. Mechanical engineer by trade, good guy. This is what I got back.

It looks so bad I honestly feel sorry for the guy. I wanted to tell him not to throw away those calculus and material design books just yet.

Last pics are after 3 hours on a die grinder and wheel sander. They still look like crap but they won’t leak and with a heavy coat of paint may turn out ok.
You must be registered for see images attach

CalSgt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Casey
Truck Year
Truck Model
Chevy K-10 Custom Deluxe
Engine Size
One of the section does look a little cold but I don't think I could do any better... I don't think I've seen nor heard of anyone TIG welding cast centers, real common on fabbed 9" housings though.

I'm curious if he pre-heated the center sections, I've heard they should be brought up to something like 400-500 degrees before welding then insulated to cool slowly after.

MtBraun

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Matt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Ya, that weld looks like its just surface, no penetration. I would question its strength, grind that crap off then do it correctly as seen MtBrauns photo.

agree, but its not a structural weld. I only wanted done on the truck axles to prevent oil leakage, which had started on the plugs.

The 8.8 Ford is a different issue though, which have been known to spin in the center sections under high torque. That was a structural weld...and pretty too!

bucket

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator