Dual tank switch kills the engine

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

shinkle

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Barry
Truck Year
Truck Model
R10
Engine Size
I have a dual tank 87 R10. The truck runs great on the driver side tank. The gauge on the driver side works. When I flip the switch to change to the passenger tank the truck instantly dies. I replaced the switch and put gas in the passenger tank with no luck.

I'm no mechanic but can do easy direct replacement jobs.

Any suggestions?

Grit dog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Instantly like you turned off the ignition or like it doesn’t switch over and runs out of gas?
I can’t think of how the tank selector valve could possibly affect power to the ignition, save for some very “custom” wiring? And at that can’t even imagine why.

meaning it’s a great chance the valve just isn’t switching over.

AKguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Randy
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30 Crew Cab Silverado
Engine Size
Those equipped with elecric fuel pumps?

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
can it be started with the tank switched and then key on, like you hear the pump whirr and everything?

AuroraGirl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Taylor
Truck Year
1978, 1980
Truck Model
K10, K25
Engine Size
400(?), 350
all i can think is some weird scenario where its grounding your always live power and pulls down enough that your ignition cant operate, but im not sure how that works or would work. a severe case of EMI maybe

gotyourgoat

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
gotyourgoat
Truck Year
Truck Model
c10
Engine Size
smokin' 305
DOA switch? fuel pump not working?