Crew cab doors and other stuff to get me started

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AaronW

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Aaron
Truck Year
Truck Model
V3500
Engine Size
Hi all, newbie here. I'm getting ready to start doing a bunch of work on my crew cab 89 3500. On the body, it needs cab corners, and I've got to do something with the doors, which have various stages of rust on them, and my weatherstripping is all rotted out. It's pretty windy in the cab....

Do any of you know: Will the rear doors off of square body suburbans fit the rear doors on my truck? Mine has that "3+3" logo on the side, if that matters. If I could do that, maybe I could find some doors where the window weatherstripping is still good, and also convert over to crank handles for the windows.

I've never done any body work before, and I'm not much of a mechanic, so this is going to be a "learn by doing" project for me.

Also, I've heard varying views on whether it is better to weld in the premade cab corners, or there's apparently some kind of fiberglass netting you can get too, where you reduce the risk of popping a weld. Thoughts on that?

Aaron

AKguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Randy
Truck Year
Truck Model
K30 Crew Cab Silverado
Engine Size
I don’t know about the rear door interchange possibilities, but I do know that the time invested in repairing the doors is a considerable amount. My crew project doors had some rot in the bottoms and various mounting holes, dents, etc. I elected to fix them, but would find replacement doors, like I will for my grandson’s F250 project, if I had it to do over. Cutting the rot out, shaping replacement pieces, tigging them in, filling holes with the tig, body filler.....ugh

AaronW

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Aaron
Truck Year
Truck Model
V3500
Engine Size