Charging a new A/C system

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

da_raabi

Trailer Park Supervisor
Reaction score
First Name
Adam
Truck Year
Truck Model
c30
Engine Size
I'm in the process of finishing up the rebuild of my A/C system. This will be a 100% new system. Evap, comp, cond, lines, hoses, etc. all replaced.

I plan to attempt charging the system myself. I can rent the gauges and vacuum pump at AutoZone, and know the basics of how to use them.

My question is: what is the capacity of the system when completely new, how much oil do I need, dye, etc?

I've never worked on A/C before, so any tips and tricks would be big time helpful.

The truck is a 1986 C30 454 with the A6 type compressor.

75Monza

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Jeremy
Truck Year
1980, 1982, 1985
Truck Model
K30, K20, K20
Engine Size
454, 383, 350
Hey da_raabi, did you keep it R12 or swap to 134a set-up? The weighted volumes between the two are different from what I remember. I did the conversion on my 86 burb with dual ac, wasn't quite as cold as the r12 was, but still way better than 4/60 ac, lol. Seen somewhere that the rule of thumb for oil charge in your truck is 6 oz in the compressor, 2 oz in the accumulator, 1 oz in the condenser, and 1 oz in each evaporator on a brand new, or otherwise empty, system. That's a total of 10 oz of oil for a 2-door cab. The net charge should be 3.2 lbs (~51 oz) of R134a (or about 4.25 12-oz cans), plus 10 oz of refrigerant oil (6 oz poured directly into the compressor suction port, the balance poured directly into the accumulator). Haven't done a system for 14 years, so might need to double check that, sure someone else could chime in since my memory is one step away from dementia anymore.

Preston

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Preston
Truck Year
Truck Model
k10
Engine Size