Can't see secondary throttle plates open.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

80BrownK10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Nate
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
With the engine off and I wedge the back top plate that's vacuume controlled open so I can see what's happening, my secondary butterflies don't open when I push the throttle all the way open. This is with the truck off sitting there not in idle. The linkage is there that connects the primary and secondary is there, the secondary shaft looks like it's rotating. I have a suspicion I have no secondaries. I am new to messing with automotive carbs and want to verify what I am seeing.

I don't think the choke lockout is on in this case but I can verify that tomorrow. I was messing with it earlier and could push it open from the choke side with the lever that hits the choke lockout.

legopnuematic

Licensed Junk Dealer
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
Spencer
Truck Year
1971, 1̶9̶7̶4, 1976, 1979,1̶9̶8̶5, 2002
Truck Model
Dart Swinger, Sierra 10, C10 Cheyenne, C10 Big Ten, Silverado 10, Ram 2500
Engine Size
225/6, 350 c.i., 350 c.i., 5.9l Cummins
Q-Jet? the linkage and arm attached to the drivers side of the carb is spring operated, there is a spring coiled around the arm which allows for the throttle to go wide open with the choke lockout engaged and not bend the linkage to hell. Easiest way to verify is to pull the carb off and from the underside work the secondary throttle blades. some light penetrating oil can help free them up if they are stuck/sticking. The cast metal used for the throttle plate can corrode and tighten up the throttle shaft to where the natural movement of the linkage is not enough to open.

80BrownK10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Nate
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size