Can someone school me on carpet

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SirRobyn0

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Rob
Truck Year
Truck Model
C20
Engine Size
I'm thinking about doing carpet in my truck. If you don't know me I'm a mechanic but don't do interior or body work professionally. I have done a few house carpet installs that have come out very well.

Here is the situation with the square, the carpet is worn out to point that it's coming apart in places. The truck has very little rust, but when PO owned it it was allowed leak from the windshield and door seals, so I can see there is some rust on the edges of the carpet. Honestly I care less about the quality and condition of the carpet than I do getting under it to see if there is rust and if there is doing something to stop it. It's a nice old truck, but I do use it for work on the farm I get in and out of it with dirty shoes all the time. I do keep a good set of weather tech floor mats in it.

Because of the dirty and mud situation I don't want to spend a ton of money on carpet, like I said my prime motivation is seeing if there is rust under there and stopping it if there is.

Does regular molded carpet come with a "pad" or underlayment (not sure what to call it) already on it or do I need to buy that separately?

Installation information is greatly appreciated.

Is using unmolded automotive carpet an option of is it to much for a beginner to work with? I'm actually kind of thinking for my experience with installing carpet in houses that I could pull off using unmolded, I could re-carpet for about $60 with that stuff, not including any underlayment.

Thanks.

WP29P4A

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
Sierra Classic V1500
Engine Size
350 TBI