Can I install a big block radiator in my small block burb?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

austinado16

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Todd
Truck Year
1990 w/307k miles on the clock
Truck Model
GMC V1500 Suburban SLE
Engine Size
5.7L TBI/4L60/3.42's
Hi guys, new member here.

I've got a 1990 GMC Suburban SLE V1500 (small block 4x4).

The existing Modine copper/brass radiator is pretty clogged and not a good candidate for rodding out. Sounds like re-coring it would be close to the cost of new.

I don't want to put one of the cheap looking aluminum/plastic radiators in it. I've seen a Vista Pro, and was not impressed.

Figured if I'm spending the money on new, why not upgraded to the thicker version used with the big blocks. Correct me if I'm wrong (because I'm just learning about this) but it looks like there were 2 versions. One is the same width and height as the small block, just thicker. The other is longer, and thicker. So 28" core width, and 34" core width respectively.

My core support has the mounting areas for the longer version, and there's nothing in that driver's corner area, so I could install the long one.

Other than the plastic fan shroud and that metal top closing panel, and a new upper radiator hose (if I go with the long version) what other parts do I need?

Any decent sources for good brass/copper radiators? Just tried to use Partsgeek.com and wound up with a radiator completely not as pictured....not even close....and the upper filler neck area caved in by UPS.

Photos would be helpful too.

Thanks!