Blue Betty, my 87 with 60K.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheBlue'Burban

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban 10
Engine Size
Now that I have some of the initial bugs worked out of her, and have somewhat familiarized myself with the forum, I guess it's time I officially introduced myself.

I am a 30 year-old father of two boys, 4 and 1. I let my wife's 98 Subaru Outback wear out to the point I didn't feel like dealing with replacing the $1500 worth of suspension parts to reinspect a car with 200K on it... so I started looking for something new.

As a commercial plumber, I normally have a work truck to run. But when I need to pick the boys up from the babysitter, or the truck is in for service, we need a second vehicle. Having personally owned a VW Beetle and Volvo 240 in the past, I was familiar with quirky old cars... but just didn't have the gusto or the blessing from the wife to deal with an old VW or Volvo again.

Enter Blue Betty, a 1987 Blue and White Suburban parked on the back row of a used car dealership on the other side of town. I had stopped to look at a couple other vehicles on the lot, an extended cab truck and a Ford Escape... something I could haul the kiddos and tools in, something that would have space and versatility.

After a second stop to the dealer on my way home from work (and honestly, after a few drinks at the bar before that) on a Friday... I took it for a test drive and internally decided that "It will be mine".

You must be registered for see images

Just under 60,000 miles, nicely repainted, nothing but a little surface rust on the frame and some stains on the carpet... it's a survivor.