Auxiliary Battery and Inverter Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Giant Rock

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Cole
Truck Year
Truck Model
Suburban v1500
Engine Size
5.7 V8
Ultimate noob here, back again with more questions that are most likely basic but here we go. So I want to add a second battery to my Suburban and a 1500w power inverter. The inverter will be used to charge batteries, plug in a laptop and run led lights possibly. Point being it will NOT be used to run power tools or a welder or anything crazy. The second battery will also be wired to power LED off road lights that I will be installing. After doing a ton of research I put together a diagram and have been thinking about doing the install myself or having my local shop do it. I went down to the shop to purchase a battery isolater and showed the guy my schematic...

He kinda went against some of the stuff I learned. For instance I was asking about using 2 or 4 gauge wire and he was like "I would use 1 or 2 'ought' wire," which is huge and haven't seen anyone online use that for their inverter or dual battery set up. Also I have inline fuses in my diagram and he said he wouldn't use any fuses, saying that fuses choke down your power and if wired correctly you don't need them.

So my question is how much of this is a professional overkill (which believe me is understandable) and how much is he right about that's how it needs to be done? Once he mentioned the massive thick cables and not using fuses, I started getting intimidated that what I had learned online wasn't quite right and that I shouldn't do this job myself.

You must be registered for see images attach

Snoots

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Roger
Truck Year
Truck Model
Jimmy Sierra
Engine Size