5.3 swap - total newbie!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Scott91370

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Scott
Truck Year
Truck Model
Sierra1500
Engine Size
I've got a chance to get a 2017 Chevy 5.3 motor complete and 6 speed trans with 43k (has he fuel control module and pump assembly) on them for a good price. Or what I think is a good price - $1800.
I've never done a swap like this, just same for same. I've got the ability just not the knowledge of putting something so new into something from 1985. I've done some searching but haven't really found anything that gives a step by step of what is needed to pull it off.
If I have the above what else would be needed to get this to work?

Thanks in advance!!

Paladin

"Teufelshunde"
Reaction score
First Name
Mike
Truck Year
Truck Model
C30 Silverado Crew Cab Dually
Engine Size
Lot's of Blood, Sweat, and Tears, plus the ability to create new and colorful curse words that would make a sailor blush! Good Luck!:cheers:

Camar068

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
First Name
David
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10/LM7 5.3/4L60e/np208/3.73/32"
Engine Size
10 yrs Air Force
That is a good price. Make sure you get the wiring harness (engine and transmission....prolly all part of one harness but I'm not sure about the 2017), pcm, fusebox, cooling fan fuse box, throttle pedal and TAC module along with the wiring harness for it. Also get the front O2 sensors if possible. Hell just get as much as you think you can get. Take the radiator and cooling fans if you can get them.

Find out if it comes with everything I listed above. if it doesn't find out what is missing and how much it's going to cost to get that. Not knowing your budget or availability of funds makes it tough.

Good source for the wiring harness info:

http://lt1swap.com/wiringharness.htm

Camar068