454 vacuum line question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Slooptin

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Vance
Truck Year
Truck Model
k30
Engine Size
Ok, I'm re-installing my Q-Jet in my truck and had some questions about vacuum line routing. I'm trying to follow the vac diagram, but it isn't matching how this truck came to me or really making a ton of sense (I'm a carb novice). the PO also disconnected everything from the charcoal canister. With that being said, my questions are:

1. I have the red circled port (port B on diagrams) attached to the primary choke vacuum brake (not installed yet) and to the distributor. Is that correct?

2. Green (port H) and blue (unlabeled) are a mystery to me. where are they supposed to be hooked up if the cannister is off? Port T (above the blue one) was also left open. is that ok?

3. There is a sensor(?) attached to the thermostat housing that looks like it has three vacuum ports on it (second pic). What is it, and is it supposed to be attached to anything?

Thanks in advance for any assistance!

Attachments

• IMG_0327.jpg
    IMG_0327.jpg
    725.1 KB · Views: 1,979
  • IMG_0328.jpg
    IMG_0328.jpg
    484.4 KB · Views: 525

Bextreme04

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Eric
Truck Year
Truck Model
K25
Engine Size
350-4bbl
1. Yes that connector looks like the right one for the pull-off.
2. Blue looks like a continuous manifold port that would be for the charcoal canister. Green is likely a manifold port that would go to #3 discussed more in depth below. The large port above the blue circle is for the PCV hose, it absolutely should NOT be left open and it needs to go to the PCV valve in the passenger side valve cover.