3/4 ton studs on half ton help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

pos87k10

Reaction score
First Name
Luke
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
350ci
Hello everyone, I’m somewhat new to the truck scene, and I have a few questions. I’m I like the think I’m pretty mechanically savvy, and I can tear apart a dirt bike or quad or really anything with a small engine, but as I get older, I’m getting more into the big leagues one could say. Anyways… my 87 k10 half ton (obviously) broke 4 studs going down the road the other day, and I guess it’s a common problem. Mine is on a 6 inch suspension lift and 3 inch body, rolling a set of 35-13.5s. Needless to say, she’s a big girl. I have a buddy who’s a mechanic and he says that I’ll have to convert to 3/4 ton 8 lug axles, but I don’t have the money for that. So here’s my question; if I were to bring my hubs to a machine shop, could I have them drill new holes for 3/4 ton studs, or just way thicker ones that fit in my wheel better and would be safer but still 6 lug to fit my rims? I just can’t afford to get axles and rims and all that right now, and it puts me in a tough spot. Any other suggestions would be welcome as well! I appreciate the help!

dvdswan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Dave
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10
Engine Size
Welcome to the site.

I haven't had an issue with 1/2T studs breaking myself. Not to say that it couldn't happen.

I would suggest just replace all the old studs with new ones would be the way to go.

The front axle hubs can be swapped over with no issues. 3/4T trucks had dana 44s and corporate 10 bolts just like the 1/2Ts.

Rear axle is a complete different story. It would be cheaper to buy the 14 bolt axle than have a machine shop do any work.

Curt

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Curt
Truck Year
Truck Model
K-30
Engine Size