1985 K5 Blazer Silverado - NOTHING ORIGINAL!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

just_some_guy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Barclay
Truck Year
Truck Model
K5 Blazer Siverado
Engine Size
5.7L
Hello all. I have been posting here a little but I haven't made a formal introduction in this sub-forum so I guess it's better late than never. I live in NE Georgia and I am new to GM Square Body vehicles. I have always liked them but never came across a really good deal - that is until recently when I purchased this 1985 K5 Blazer Silverado.

You must be registered for see images attach

Well, at least I THOUGHT I was getting a "good deal". I paid less than $2K for it after I took it on a test drive. It has needed some pretty substantial repairs, but that's really not what's bothering me. After I started looking into the thing a little more closely, it turns out this vehicle is far from its original factory condition.

This Blazer originally came with a 305 engine and Quadrajet carb. The previous owner apparently removed it - and all the period-correct emission control stuff - and installed a 350 with an Edelbrock carb and dual exhaust.

Oh but it gets better....

This thing came with a 4 speed transmission. It's not there anymore, either. I got underneath it today and counted the bolts and examined the shape of the pan. It's a 3 speed transmission called a "TH350"?

WTF???

Oh but we're not done yet. There's more!

This Blazer is supposed to have a 10 bolt rear axle in it. Guess what? It's got a 12 bolt in it, instead.

I don't know what possessed the previous owner but he has been known to hit the bottle occasionally. I'll just leave it at that.