1985 Chevy C10 305: Engine Randomly Shuts Off

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ortwein

Reaction score
First Name
Mark
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10
Engine Size
Hello All,

First, let me start by saying I am complete novice: I do most very simple repairs on my pickup (replaced a thermostat, water pump, simply plug-in-play stuff) but am extremely weak when it comes to diagnosing problems. The upshot is that I may ask stupid questions and require simplified responses. Bear with me...

So, here is my situation (It's lengthy).

I purchased ($1500) an old farm truck (1985 C10) to use primarily on my property, e.g., hauling feed and water, towing, and that sort of thing. On the whole I was quite pleased with the purchase. That said a month or two after taking ownership (this was in June or July of last year), I drove the pickup over to the neighboring town and noticed with was losing power, so I mashed the gas petal a few times and it gained power and I kept going (was driving around 50-55 mph). A few minutes later it happened again and once more I started mashing the petal keeping it going for 4-5 minutes before my leg started aching and I decided to pull over. Sure enough, as soon as I quit mashing the petal the truck died and I pulled over. The truck would not restart. I sat on the side of the highway for about 15 minutes trying to get it going--no dice. So I called a tow truck and had it delivered to my mechanic. When they arrived--to my chagrin--the truck started right up and the fellow drove my truck up the ramp and off he went.