What is this??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

87Hi-v15HND

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Daniel
Truck Year
Truck Model
v1500
Engine Size
Haven’t been able to find much about this but I seen some one call it the advance timing circuit. I’m trying to get my engine timing set and do not know if this plug has any relevance to do so.

Can someone kind of walk me through the correct way to set the timing?

I know on the older Sbc’s you’re suppose to plug the vacuum advance port for initial timing I believe but I am unsure of the computer controlled advance timing..

Or maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about at all. I’m no mechanic, just a do it your selfer...

You must be registered for see images attach

1987 GMC Jimmy

Automobile Hoarder
Reaction score
First Name
Jesse
Truck Year
Truck Model
V1500 Jimmy
Engine Size
Hatzie mentioned this in your other post. It’s a 12V test lead for the fuel pump. You apply voltage there to test it directly. There’s a pin on the ALDL to do the same thing.

87Hi-v15HND

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Daniel
Truck Year
Truck Model
v1500
Engine Size
Hatzie mentioned this in your other post. It’s a 12V test lead for the fuel pump. You apply voltage there to test it directly. There’s a pin on the ALDL to do the same thing.
Ok got it thanks! I must have misread that.

So I thought that had something to do with the computerized advance timing... is there a plug I’m suppose to unplug when I’m setting the initial timing?

78C10BigTen

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Ted
Truck Year
Truck Model
C10 BIG TEN
Engine Size
Ok got it thanks! I must have misread that.

So I thought that had something to do with the computerized advance timing... is there a plug I’m suppose to unplug when I’m setting the initial timing?