Sway Bar

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cah2873

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Chance
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size
Another question about my 1984 Chevrolet K20 with 4" lift and 35" tires. Just replaced the steering gear box, everything on the front end, ball joints, brace for the gear box to the frame from off road design and the truck drives much better. Everything else checked out good as the raised steering arm, rag joint, and etc. We live down farm market roads with barely enough room for 2 vehicles to pass and I was driving it this morning and when the pavement would shift- due to lack of road maintenance- the truck would walk a little. No big deal for me as I am an experienced driver but my teenage son will be driving it also. Will a front sway help prevent this front happening?

theblindchicken

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Christian
Truck Year
Truck Model
K10 5" lift + 2" BL
Engine Size
350-4, 0.030" over
I've got the ORD sway bar correction on my truck: 4-5" suspension & 35's as well. My truck has a tendency to follow all the grooves in the road due to the more aggressive tread of the tires. But i'll admit that I do have a fair amount of play in the steering (10-15 degrees in both directions of no input), so I do kinda sway back and forth in the lane.

I didn't have as much issue with this when I was running 32x10.5R15 Yokohama Geolandar AT/S versus my 35x12.5R15 BFG TA/KO2's.

I'd assume the wider tires doesn't help any either.

The sway bar should help some, but may not the cure-all you're looking for. Probably just gonna have to teach your son to learn how to control all the quirks that come with having a heavy truck on modified suspension.

cah2873

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First Name
Chance
Truck Year
Truck Model
K20
Engine Size